My Transition into Tech

Photo by RetroSupply on Unsplash

My Transition into Tech

Transitioning into tech from a non-tech background can be really tiring and sometimes discouraging. I used to be a teacher, and most of what I used my laptop for then was watching movies. 2021 came and I decided to transition into tech. To be honest, I was inspired by the availability of jobs in the industry and the high pay compared to my teaching job.

HOW EASY WAS THE PROCESS?

  • DECIDING WHICH TRACK TO GO FOR

    Getting started was not easy at all for me, there were a lot of tracks, and deciding which path to take was the first challenge I had. There are multiple paths and learning routes and it was not surprising that I started to lose direction. After spending a few days brooding and researching, I settled for the front-end track. If you are a beginner and you are not sure what to go for, you should definitely research what each track entails and go for what you think fits you most
  • DEALING WITH DOUBT

    As expected, I started with HTML which happens to be the standard markup language for Web pages, and then CSS, the language we use to style an HTML document. My doubts started to creep in during my period of learning the basics of JAVASCRIPT, I couldn’t understand what was going on anymore! I began to panic and I felt tech was not for me. It’s normal to feel confused and unintelligent, just hang in there and you’d definitely be out of that phase.
  • FINDING COMMUNITY

    This one here came really quick for me, I found amazing people and communities that really held my hand all through my journey. Shoutout to all tech communities and people out there, y’all are really amazing. If you’re finding it difficult to get a community, I’d advise you to join an internship program, a Bootcamp, or one of the tech communities out there; You could simply even reach out to any tech person you know.

Transitioning wasn’t rosy for me, if you are looking out to transition into tech, know for sure it won’t be easy. Transitioning is tough but it is very possible. Start somewhere, somehow, and be consistent. I DID IT AND I’M SURE YOU CAN TOO