Taking a break from coding

Taking a break from coding

Should we take breaks? Should we keep going on?

HeyπŸ’š, welcome back to my blog. This post is about taking breaks from coding and I'm going to be sharing my personal experience as well.

Let me start by asking you a few questions .
Do you think it is proper to take a break from coding?🎀
Have you ever taken a break from coding? 🎀
Do you plan to take a break from coding sometime later?🎀


I took a breakπŸ””

I personally have a positive answer to the second question. Sometimes last year, I had a few other things to do and so I had to drop coding for a while. I felt bad about it at first, but as days passed, I got used to the break. As much as my break from coding wasn't an intentional one, I still strongly believe that it had much more consequences than I expected.

Ultimately, it took me a few weeks to resume back at coding and when I got back, I realized I needed that break. The best part of the break for me was the fresh enthusiasm, zeal, and energy that came after it. Before my break, I had just started learning Javascript and I was already feeling frustrated, overwhelmed, and confused.

My break really helped me

  • I finally got back my confidence and mojo πŸŽ†
  • I had more clarity than before 🌞
  • I stopped pushing myself around
  • I realized that I could do things differently to help myself
  • I started to ask for help
  • I stopped beating up myself

If you happen to see this blog and like me, you are feeling tired, overwhelmed, defeated, or frustrated in your coding journey, this is just a reminder that you are very okay and you are totally adequate. Don't panic, take a break, no matter how short the break it is. You can take a walk, go see a movie or take a short vacation and I'm optimistic that you will get better and you'll be fine. Don't hesitate to ask for help from your friends, mentors, or your community. I'm counting on you, stay jiggy!✌️

Β